Week 6: Now is the hour

Ethics-test

So did I achieve my goal to get a global view of ethics? I think I did I can now unequivocally say that there are no right answers anywhere in the world only different perspectives and plastic opinions which meld and change as we extend our knowledge base.

 

I can also unashamedly say I have now blogged all be it a bit to much of a personal style that I can see often confuses others with it’s lack of punctuation and a bit to much stream of consciousness.  I still find it a bit hard to believe that the course is meant to only be 3hrs a week as I still find I may get to engrossed? And was initially spending many hours reading and commenting on others ideas, although I did fine tune it to reading emails when they came in and often skimming for individual blogs that I knew would be well presented/written, entertaining and interesting (something to aspire to).

 

I still enjoy people having different points of view as to me it generates a more interesting discussion and clarifies and crystalline more than one point of view and if backed with evidence all the better.

 

 

But Still Have I Changed?

 

Not entirely I did come into the corse stating I treat each patient like my mother and I find that I still do. I may question some of the policies and politic of the system I work in but still see little I would/can do to change it. Such as when we discussed torture no being an individual exposed to extreme acts of torture I found it hard to say anything on track working on the “Not in My Back Yard” Theory and was interested by how there were some very strong opinions on it, and the consideration that small acts were not considered torture by many. It allowed me to see that perspective is key as physical scars alone to not sum up the word.

 

 59202_363501303756676_1083218571_n

 

 

There were definitely a few bloggers that were prolific and I followed Chantelle van den Berg had brilliant summaries and did assist in representing ethics in SA, Wendy presented views that I did have to think about, Jakie often covered more topics, and I did love Ellen’s mind Maps. I was just having a quick look through my emails and have 816 in my ethics folder and have read 586 of them quite surprising, I would like to think each has given me new prospective and details on how people see “big questions” internationally

 

I did enjoy this style of course as I obtained prospective I would never otherwise have considered. I do in many social media tend to be more of a voyeur than participator I think this course has required me to challenge myself and participate in a nearly anonyms manor which I think has lead to more information divulged than would be expected if paper assignments were used it also updated us getting us to use multimedia information to realise that essay after essay on the same question may be boring but with modern media can be interesting and diverse.  I would still query some of the qualities of sources (mine included) as we were always told not to use wikipedia etc as so often miss information is presented but I think by read each others boggers we are able to better evaluate ideas with or without evidence.

6743_360489267391213_1639101317_n

 

I would recommend this course to others to expand their ideas and challenge their norm. I would also like to think that someone in the group may act on their ideas and if not is it an act of futility to have the knowledge the idea but no motivation to act on their convictions? As although the process of understanding others is paramont as individuals I would like to think this would also help to achieve some changes.

 

 

One thought on “Week 6: Now is the hour

  1. […] Marna, Week 6: Now is the hour […]

Leave a comment